Home Music Articles Forums Blog Chat More...      

add to bookmarks
Prev Topic | Next Topic

Author
Posts
(Read 1014 times)
michaeljayklein
Forum Full Member


Registered: 02/13/09
Posts: 2078
Location: Birmingham, Alabama USA
 
FaceBook warning...
Thursday, June 28 2012 @ 06:55 PM CDT

Just this very moment, I checked my personal email and saw this notification that so and so wanted me to add him to my FaceBook account. Well, the problem is, I DON'T have a Facebook account, never did. I clicked on that link and then it asked me to confirm I was ANOTHER PERSON and sure enough, I opened her FaceBook account (mind you, I didn't do this intentionally to access this lady's account--I figured it would not work, you know?) I need some advice regarding this: I'm thinking I should contact her and let her know this happened (I really don't care to be snooping around mucking up things for her--trust me!), but I suppose I'd rest better knowing this party was notified. What do you think? Should I do that or just leave all alone and move on? Perhaps I should write directly to FaceBook admin--yup, that's what I'll do!

Anyway, just thought I'd alert you to this potentially dangerous gaff--hopefully it was a "freak" one-time thing! Take care now, Michael


"Where phones and music somehow are somehow related"
SmokeyVW
Forum Full Member


Registered: 06/13/06
Posts: 6203
Location: N/A
 
Re:FaceBook warning
Thursday, June 28 2012 @ 07:46 PM CDT

thanks for the heads up

it is very strange that you got into someone else's account. maybe they are enticing innocents into trashing that account to avoid responsibility? a very odd indirect attack method

be paranoid. never click on links in emails - no matter how real they look. copy the link first and examine it carefully to see that it looks like blah.knownplace.knowndomain - if not, find a way to validate it, don't open the link! find out what it is through other means (like googling it, or logging on to your account there first and look a different way)

it's sad isn't it?
SmokeyVW
Forum Full Member


Registered: 06/13/06
Posts: 6203
Location: N/A
 
Re:FaceBook warning
Thursday, June 28 2012 @ 07:50 PM CDT

by the way - that's why i hate those tiny url things - you can't validate them without committing. i generally just say to myself "i don't really need to see that, do i?" and move on
michaeljayklein
Forum Full Member


Registered: 02/13/09
Posts: 2078
Location: Birmingham, Alabama USA
 
Re:FaceBook warning
Thursday, June 28 2012 @ 07:52 PM CDT

Quote by: SmokeyVW
thanks for the heads up

it is very strange that you got into someone else's account. maybe they are enticing innocents into trashing that account to avoid responsibility? a very odd indirect attack method

be paranoid. never click on links in emails - no matter how real they look. copy the link first and examine it carefully to see that it looks like blah.knownplace.knowndomain - if not, find a way to validate it, don't open the link! find out what it is through other means (like googling it, or logging on to your account there first and look a different way)

it's sad isn't it?



That's some good advice Bill, none which I heeded at the time, of course! Fortunately, this was a legit mess-up. I'm familiar already with the "Your file has uploaded at YouTube" message (when one has nothing uploading at Youtube, you'd be crazy to click on THAT link!) Take care, Michael

"Where phones and music somehow are somehow related"
virtualruffy
Forum Full Member


Registered: 02/12/05
Posts: 557
Location: Arkham, MA USA
 
Re:FaceBook warning
Friday, June 29 2012 @ 08:07 PM CDT

the link is almost certainly not really facebook. It is probably a lookalike site intended for you to belive you are on facebook and then login as yourself.The full link is something like ne8,jp/there/fug54/slot4/facebook.com/html/index etc
I filter spam as part of my job. Simple rules to obey:
NEVER click a spam link. EVER. Delete it and if you want add components to your own filter be it yahoo email or outlook etc. You can also submit the spam to your email host and let them deal with it.
Did I mention NEVER click on the link? EVER?
There are way too many ugly things that can happen that you are unaware of just by clicking it. Macs are safer but pcs can be instantly compromised.
Anyway, once you click on a link the email sent to you now confirms your address as legitimate -prepare for more spam because you just validated your email. Same for replying or clicking the misleading 'unsubscribe" link. Never click those in an email you received unsolicited. You can also hold your mouse pointer on the link to see where it really goes.

If you want to get a laugh back at the spammers go to ebolamonkeyman.com he posts the emails he tricks and abuses spammers with if they respond to him. The pictures are worth it alone. Yes he tells them he needs to see proof that they are real before sending money so they need to send him a picture back holding a sign with his name on it. Names include "Father Will Utouchme" and more

my greatest inspiration is my own damnation, pain is eternal
michaeljayklein
Forum Full Member


Registered: 02/13/09
Posts: 2078
Location: Birmingham, Alabama USA
 
Re:FaceBook warning
Friday, June 29 2012 @ 08:49 PM CDT

Nah, it was FaceBook all right--just thought I'd share this with anyone who has a FaceBook account.

"Where phones and music somehow are somehow related"
XMaramena
Forum Full Member


Registered: 11/22/10
Posts: 281
Location: London, United Kingdom
 
Re:FaceBook warning
Sunday, July 01 2012 @ 12:41 PM CDT

Contact facebook - is it possible the user simply entered the wrong email address when she signed up?

Or perhaps she's set up some sort of forwarding by accident. Still doesn't explain how you got through without a password though...
awigze
Forum Full Member


Registered: 11/15/08
Posts: 2162
Location: , The Republic of Texas
 
Re:FaceBook warning
Sunday, July 01 2012 @ 09:25 PM CDT

Very odd I notice that at the login it will say , not your account? or something like that. I deactivated my account anyway. I am feeling nostalgic for life before Facebook.

Music is the master link in the chain of the tribes of mankind! -SloParts
and so it goes...
VicDiesel
Forum Full Member


Registered: 02/14/06
Posts: 2691
Location: Austin, TX
 
Re:FaceBook warning
Sunday, July 01 2012 @ 09:39 PM CDT

Quote by: michaeljayklein
.... I clicked on that link ....



Well, there's your error.

Quote by: SmokeyVW
by the way - that's why i hate those tiny url things - you can't validate them without committing.



Yes you can. Just hover your mouse over them, and Apple Mail will tell you what they really are.

Quote by: SmokeyVW
i generally just say to myself "i don't really need to see that, do i?" and move on



Good man.

Victor.

-- My CD. Use coupon code "macjams" on BandCamp.
 
SmokeyVW
Forum Full Member


Registered: 06/13/06
Posts: 6203
Location: N/A
 
Re:FaceBook warning
Sunday, July 01 2012 @ 09:47 PM CDT

Quote by: VicDiesel
...
Quote by: SmokeyVW
by the way - that's why i hate those tiny url things - you can't validate them without committing.

Yes you can. Just hover your mouse over them, and Apple Mail will tell you what they really are.

...

hmmm.... that doesn't seem to work for me. however i just found this:

http://tinyurl.com/preview.php